Handouts
- Intro to MRI+ (MediaMark Online)This PDF, created by Deborah Poole, provides an introduction to MRI+ (MediaMark Online).
- How to Read a Mediamark ReportThis handout, created by Deborah Poole, shows how to read a report from Mediamark.
APA Style
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)This website provides an APA (American Psychological Association) formatting and style guide.
Demographic and Marketing Information
Databases
Academic Search Complete is a general database that is helpful for locating popular and scholarly information on nearly every subject. Search Communication & Mass Media Complete for materials related to mass communication. Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform for articles related to business.
Some materials are available in full text. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, including PR, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
Catalogs
To find books on Mass Communication, search the library's catalog. To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
Some of the most commonly used locations for Mass Communication books in the library are:
3rd floor
HD59-59.6 Public relations. Industrial publicity
HE8689-8700.95 Radio and television broadcasting
HF5801-6182 Advertising
PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting
PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
TK5101-6720 Telecommunication
TR 820 Photojournalism
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
