Last Updated: Nov 8, 2013
- Boolean Operators
Here's a link to a webpage from Ithaca College Library. The page describes advanced searching techniques, such as Boolean operators, truncation, and wild cards.
In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Merged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries. Dates of coverage vary, includes current publications.
Abstracts of English-language articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. (Requires free DjVu browser plug-in). Dates vary, mostly mid-1980s to present.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s.
A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century. ARTstorHow-to videos
- Hospitality & Tourism Index
Industry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines. Dates vary, some as far back as 1950 to present.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
- ABI/Inform Global
Provides citations to articles on business, international business, marketing, management, finance and related areas. Covers 1970 to present.
- Business Source Complete
Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- MRI+ (MediaMark Online)
MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account using your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Works with Firefox 2+, Internet Explorer 6+, Safari 2+, Opera 9+, Netscape 7+. 1963 to present.
- Local Market Audience Analyst
The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data.
Note: Use the 'Click here to access SRDS services' link in the middle of the page. Then select the service at the top of the list. Use Internet Explorer browser.
To find books on Mass Communication, search the library's catalog. To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org