Related Guides
Advanced Search Tips
- Boolean OperatorsHere's a link to a webpage from Ithaca College Library. The page describes advanced searching techniques, such as Boolean operators, truncation, and wild cards.
Chicago/ Turabian Style
- Chicago Manual of Style 16th EditionFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideOverview of the Notes-Bibliography style of citations from the Chicago Manual of Style.
- Turabian Quick GuideFrom the University of Chicago Press
Compare and Contrast Newspaper Coverage
For your paper, you must compare and contrast coverage by the Times-Picayune, New York Times, and Chicago Defender of the Selma movement.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
- Chicago DefenderHistoric African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
Catalogs for Finding Secondary Sources
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
Here are some helpful subject terms from our catalog:
African Americans -- Civil Rights -- History -- 20th Century
Civil Rights Movements -- United States -- History -- 20th Century
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes considerable non-English language material.
Databases for Finding Secondary Sources
Locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- America: History & Life with Full TextCitations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
