Last Updated: Dec 7, 2015
Browse our shelves: D: World History | E-F: History of the Americas
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Reference Books
Use this link to search for reference books at the Monroe Library. Reference books provide overviews of topics and are often helpful for identifying key works on a subject.
Locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
Search books, book chapters and articles on the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth, covering 55BC to the present. Updated quarterly. Note: When finished, use the Logoff link. We have a limited number of simultaneous users. 1900 to present.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI. Covers 1992 to present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly. Note: When finished, please click Logout in upper right. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos
- Cambridge Companions Online
Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
- Chicago Defender
Historic African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
Browsable and searchable full text and images of the magazine Harper's Weekly for 1857 through 1877.
- New York Times (Historical)
Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2010.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988
Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
Also visit the links on the History Resources on the World Wide Web page, which is maintained by the Department of History.
- American Memory
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
- British History Online
"British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800."
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes Louisiana papers.
- Digital Sanborn Maps
Images of street maps from selected Louisiana cities, including New Orleans, from 1867 to 1970.
- Making of America - Cornell
Full text of books and journals published in the U.S. from the antebellum period through reconstruction. (The Cornell and Michigan sites are different.)
- Making of America - Michigan
Full text of books and journals published in the U.S. from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
English legal history beginning with 1066 C.E.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
"The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968."
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org