Related Guides
Catalogs and Books
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Cambridge Companions OnlineCollection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
- Oxford Reference OnlineSearch for entries in 14 Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- America: History & Life with Full TextCitations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
- Chicago DefenderHistoric African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers- African American NewspapersCoverage 1865 through 1922 (varies by title).
