LibGuides: Newspapers & Current Events: Home

Related Guides

Newspapers in Print

The library receives several newspapers in print. The current issues are shelved on the first floor of the Monroe Library near the front entrance. Back issues are kept on the second floor. These papers are retained for different lengths of time.

The New Orleans Advocate
The New Orleans Times-Picayune
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal

There are a few papers that are only shelved on the second floor, they are:

Catholic Worker
Houston Catholic Worker
New Orleans City Business

Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources

Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).

Newspapers by Title

Are you looking for a specific newspaper, such as the Times-Picayune? Use these tools to see if you have access to the full text through the Monroe Library.

Journal Finder
Databases A-Z
Some newspapers are listed in the Databases A-Z list. Browse or search by title.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibary Loan to request books, articles and other materials not owned by the Monroe Library. Materials may be requested from other libraries or commercial document suppliers.

Current Newspaper Databases

Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Help with this database.
Access World News
A full-text collection of over 6700 primarily U.S. newspapers. Source for the New Orleans Advocate and Times-Picayune.
New York Times
Searchable full text of the daily newspaper. 1980 to present. To view other NYT publications, click "Publications" above the search box or go to https://loyno.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/nytimes/publicationbrowse/news/?accountid=12168
Help with this database.
Newspaper Source Plus
A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines, and television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New Orleans Times-Picayune 1989-present
Search or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
Wall Street Journal
All Loyola faculty, staff, and students have access to their own individual WSJ subscription. Sign in through sso. This program is sponsored by the College of Business.

Historical Newspaper Databases

Catholic News Archive
Searchable full text of seven publications, including the Clarion Herald from New Orleans. Over 2000 articles and 46,000 pages. From the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA). Dates vary, mostly 1960s.
Chicago Defender
Historic African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
Help with this database
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes Louisiana papers.
Help with this database.
Gale Primary Sources
Historical publications: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, the Times (of London) newspaper 1785-2011, and the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1. (Also available individually.) Slavery and Anti-Slavery is not yet part of this service and must be searched separately.
Google News Archive
Search for news stories in newspapers from around the world from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Louisiana Newspaper Access Program
Digital versions of Louisiana newspapers, as early as 1794 and as late as 1949.
Help with this database.
Maroon campus newspaper
The Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features.
New Orleans Bee
New Orleans newspaper published from 1827 to 1925. It includes articles primarily French and English, with some Spanish. This site has two time sections: Sept. 1827 through Aug. 1881 and Sept. 1881 to Dec. 1923. No searching for text, only browsing by date.
New Orleans Times-Picayune 1837-1988
Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
New York Times (Historical)
Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2014.
Help with this database.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Collection of newspapers from the United States and its territories published between 1800 and 1899. Not every issue of every newspaper is available. Can search the entire collection at once; advanced search focuses by individual paper, type of article, and publication dates.
Times (of London) Digital Archive 1785-2012
The Times (of London) newspaper in full page image from 1785 through 2012. Advanced search to limit by type of article.

Current Events

CQ Researcher
Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help with this database.
NewsBank Special Reports
Links to newspaper articles, images and videos on issues in the news: economics, terrorism, politics, the environment, education, science, medicine, and people in the news.
Help with this service