University Archivist
Primary Sources
For this assignment, think of primary sources as writings created by authors or artists who lived during antiquity -- not from the medieval period or later. Sources from antiquity will tell you how people from that time viewed the person or figure you chose for this project.
- Theoi ProjectThe Theoi Project is a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
- Loeb Classical LibraryA library of classical Latin and Greek texts with adjacent English translations. Based on the book series, most of which are in our print collection. Perpetual access provided through the Bienvenue Endowment.
- New Oxford Annotated Study Bible (NRSV)The New Oxford Annotated Bible, with twenty new essays and introductions and others--as well as annotations--fully revised, offers the reader flexibility for any learning style. Beginning with a specific passage or a significant concept, finding information for meditation, sermon preparation, or academic study is straightforward and intuitive.
Artistic Representations
- ARTstorA digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century. ARTstor how-to videos.
- Theoi ProjectThe Theoi Project is a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
- Oxford Companion to Western ArtCoverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques. Oxford University Press.
- DiotimaThis free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and ArchitectureAll aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the ArtsAn in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts
- National Gallery of ArtOpen images from the U.S.'s National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.
- British Museum Collections OnlineThere are currently 2,335,338 records available, which represent more than 4,000,000 objects. 1,018,471 records have one or more images.
- The LouvreThe database for the Louvre’s collections consists of entries for more than 480,000 works of art that are part of the national collections and registered in the inventories of the museum’s eight curatorial departments (Near Eastern Antiquities; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Sculpture; Prints and Drawings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Decorative Arts), those of the History of the Louvre department, or the inventories of the Musée National Eugène-Delacroix, administratively attached to the Louvre since 2004.