How to Find Poetry
To find works of poetry and works about poetry using QuickSearch or the library catalog, include the keyword POETRY with additional search terms like:
- Author's name
- Author's ethnicity or country of origin
- Topic or theme
For example, a search for [ POETRY ] and [ PHILLIS WHEATLEY ] to retrieve collections of Wheatley's poetry as well as books and articles about her life and work.
A search for [ POETRY ] and [ CHOCTAW ] will retrieve works about Choctaw poets and their works.
You can also search for more specific kinds of poetry, such as EPIC POETRY, FREE VERSE, or SONNETS.
You can also use a specialized database to search for and browse poetry.
- Literary Reference Source PlusFull-text database provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Use the Advanced Search feature in Literary Reference Plus to limit your results by Literary Genre. In this case, you can select Poetry to only retrieve works of poetry and works about poetry. You can also limit your search by Language, Author's Gender Identity and Cultural Identity.
Poetry Reference
- Modern American PoetryHosted by the University of Illinois, this site contains biographical information and critiques of around 160 major American poets.
- Poetry Foundation/Poetry MagazineWebsite for the oldest monthly publication highlighting poetry in English, contains teaching and learning resources, scholarly articles, featured poetry, podcasts, and newsletters. Also provides free access to digitized back issues beginning with 1912.
Something Special: Audio Recordings
- Audio Recordings of Poets Reading Poetry
Historic and contemporary recordings featuring poets and writers reading and discussing their work at the Library of Congress (and beyond)
Organizations and Magazines
- The American Poetry ReviewA major publication featuring quality poetry by both established and up-and-coming American poets
- Literary Magazines – Contact Information and Submission GuidelinesThis list is available thanks to Poets & Writers magazine.
- NewPages Big List of Literary MagazinesBe sure to use the Journal Finder to see if our library has access to these literary magazines.
- The Poetry SocietyThe website for the parent organization of Britain’s The Poetry Review, this page contains information about the 100+-year old, publicly and privately funded British literary society. In addition to publishing contemporary poetry, the nonprofit sponsors competitions, educational initiatives, public readings and festivals, and digital programming such as podcasts and lectures.
- Poets and Writers magazineThe trade journal for creative writers
- Poets.orgThe home page for the Academy of American Poets, this site contains featured poetry, articles about poetry, indexes of poets, links to local poetry events, information about American Poetry Month and American Poets magazine, and a brief glossary of major schools, forms, and occasions of poetry