Primary Sources
- Digital Scriptorium
This link opens in a new window
Search images of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from libraries and museums across North America. - Drama OnlinePlay scripts and writing about drama from Aeschylus to the present day.
- Gale Primary SourcesHistorical publications: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, the Times (of London) newspaper 1785-2011, and the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1. (Also available individually.) Slavery and Anti-Slavery is not yet part of this service and must be searched separately.
- Online Image CollectionsOn this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.
Newspapers (Historical and Contemporary)
- Access World NewsA full-text collection of over 6700 primarily U.S. newspapers. Source for the New Orleans Advocate and Times-Picayune.
- Chicago DefenderHistoric African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
- Chronicling America : Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes Louisiana papers.
- New Orleans Times-Picayune 1989-presentSee Databases A-Z for Times-Picayune back to 1837.
Special Tools
- JSTOR Understanding ShakespeareAllows you to look up scholarly articles according to the lines of any of Shakespeare's plays that are directly quoted in the article. Features Folger's full-text of all plays.
- Ben Jonson Online
Works major and minor of the English renaissance writer Ben Jonson (1572-1637) in full text, with both contemporary and modern spelling. Many additional essays and reference material, including a play performance archive. From Cambridge University Press.