Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General and Analytical
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 40 million structures from hundreds of data sources." From the Royal
Society of Chemistry (UK).
"ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches." From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
"Chemical database is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies." From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Emission Measurement Center Spectral Database
From the U.S. Environmental Projection Agency. Not very extensive. Browse or search by CAS Registry Number or name.
LabWrite for Students
This site from North Carolina State University "guides you through the entire laboratory experience, from before you walk into the lab to after you get back your graded report."
"High Quality Mass Spectral Database" from Japan in English.
NIST Atomic Spectra Database
"The spectroscopic data may be selected and displayed according to wavelengths or energy levels by choosing one of the following options:..." lines, levels or ground states and ionization levels.
Guide to writing scientific reports, like lab reports. From the University of North Carolina Writing Center.
Sigma-Aldrich | Advanced Search
Search for molecular formula, CAS number, etc.
Sigma-Aldrich | Substructure Search
Draw the chemical structure component you need.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
From the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan. In English. Must agree to disclaimer to use.
Lists of chemistry web sites
Web sites that list other web sites that are related to the chemical sciences.
"The Sheffield Chemdex: the directory of chemistry on the WWW since 1993." Search or browse categories: Chemistry Link Type (Elements & compounds, Chemistry departments, etc.), Countries, and Chemistry (Organic compounds, Biographies, etc.)
Master Organic Chemistry
Lists online courses, teaching websites, online textbooks, YouTube videos, and more.
Spectra & Spectral Data
Listing of sources. Not all are available at Loyola.