Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
SciFinder Academic
- SciFinder-nSearch the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.) Covers 1962 to present. Abbreviation list.
SciFinder Academic is the online premium search engine for the world of chemical literature. Created by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) of the American Chemical Society (ACS), it located journal articles, books, book chapters, patent and other publications in the field of chemistry. It is global in scope, so many publications are not in English.
Before using it, you must first register for an account with the ACS. More information on SciFinder Academic from the ACS. It was formerly called SciFinder Scholar.
Get articles directly through SciFinder Academic or request them through interlibrary loan.
Use outside of chemistry classes and labs at Loyola is not permitted. Results may only be shared with other Loyola University New Orleans students and faculty. Sharing of username and passwords for login is not permitted. Each person must have their own login. Sign up for a login with ACS before you use it. Signup must be done on campus. No more than 5000 citations may be saved by each user. Automated or back downloading of citations is strictly forbidden. All these requirements are part of our license agreement with the ACS. Contact Jim Hobbs with any questions.
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) YouTube videos.
Happy searching!
- American Chemical Society web journalsSearchable full text of most ACS journals. Covers all years for journals included.
- Chemical Abstracts Service YouTube ChannelWatch tutorials and info about SciFinder Academic.
