General Resources
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveFreely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.
The Bible
Bible Translations and Commentaries
- Anchor Yale Bible CommentariesAnchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 89 volumes and are one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship. They draw from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. The only book NOT covered in this digital commentary database is the Gospel of Matthew.
Please note: Matthew by W.F. Albright and C.S. Mann is not available as part of the online Anchor Bible collection due to digital rights restrictions. Consult this volume in print at Monroe Library:
Matthew by Call Number: BS192.2 .A1 1964 .G3 vol.26ISBN: 9780300139785Publication Date: 1971
Alternatively, the Internet Archive has a digitized copy of the Matthew volume available online, to one reader at a time:
- Anchor Bible. Vol.26, MatthewOnline access via the Internet Archive.
Note: only one user at a time may use this digital copy.
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780190276119Publication Date: 2018Includes introductions and extensive annotations for each book by acknowledged experts in the field provide context and guidance; introductory essays on major groups of biblical writings such as the Pentateuch, Prophets, Gospels, and other sections; general essays on history, translation matters, different canons in use today, and issues of daily life in biblical times; maps, diagrams, timelines, parallel texts, weights and measures, calendars, and other helpful tables help navigate the biblical world.
Bible Reference Works
- Oxford Very Short Introductions: Biblical StudiesConcise and original introductions to key concepts in Biblical Studies, including study of the Old and New Testaments, Synoptic Gospels, Dead Sea Scrolls, Biblical Archaeology, and the Bible as Literature.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the ArtsAn in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts
The Qu'ran
- Internet Sacred Text Archive: IslamArabic texts, translations, and transliterations of the Qur'an, as well as Hadith, Sufi texts, and histories of Islamic culture.
The Koran: A Very Short Introduction by ISBN: 9780192853448Publication Date: 2000Explores the significance of the Koran both in the modern world and in traditional Muslim culture, by looking at the Koran as codex, as scripture, as liturgy, and as the embodiment of truth, and examines its means of formation and dissemination.
Holy Quran: Arabic text with English translation and commentary by Call Number: BP109 2002BISBN: 9780913321010Publication Date: 2002
