Religious Studies Librarian
Which Database Should I Choose?
The study of religion is often interdisciplinary, drawing from diverse fields of study such as anthropology, history, literature, philosophy, and theology. For this reason, QuickSearch is a great place to start. It searches across disciplines, and includes scholarly journal articles as well as books at Monroe Library, both print copies and ebooks.
If you would like to focus your search to articles about religion, ATLA Religion is a great choice. This database specializes in collecting scholarly journal and religious magazine articles.
For Bible studies, ATLA Religion also features a Scripture Citation search. Select a book and/or chapter of the Old or New Testament and find articles that cite and engage with that part of the Bible.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion published between 1949 and the present. Limited to four simultaneous users.
JSTOR is another interdisciplinary database with lots of full text journal articles.
Searching JSTOR is a bit different from ATLA Religion.
- In ATLA Religion, our keywords have to match titles, authors, abstracts, and other descriptive parts of the article.
- In JSTOR, you are searching the full text of every article. This means you can find every mention of a word or name, but that can also result in thousands of hits, not all of which are relevant. Keep that in mind when crafting your search terms.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
Other Library Catalogs
Expand your search for books beyond Monroe Library!
Loyola students can borrow book from Tulane's Howard-Tilton Memorial Library by requesting a TU/LU Card at the Monroe Library front desk. That will be your library card at Tulane for the semester.
You can also discover books held at libraries across the country using WorldCat, then request a copy using our InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service. Ask your librarian if you need help the first time you use ILL.
- Tulane Library CatalogLoyola and Tulane have a reciprocal borrowing agreement that allows the students, staff, and faculty of each institution to check out books from the other's library. To see if Tulane has a book that is not currently in our catalog, click here to search the Howard-Tilton's catalog. Be sure to change the search function from "Multiple Sources" to "Books."
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Additional Related Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals in all areas of philosophy from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.