Librarian
Ebooks (available in the Monroe Library)
The Old Testament: A Very Short Introduction by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Coogan, Michael. The Old Testament: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford UP, 2008. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780199719464
The Hebrew Bible: A Critical Companion by
MLA citation (italicize title and database):
Barton, John, editor. The Hebrew Bible: A Critical Companion. Princeton UP, 2016. JSTOR, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9781400880584Publication Date: 2016-06-07
The Blackwell Companion to the Hebrew Bible by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Last Name, First. "Title of Chapter." The Blackwell Companion to the Hebrew Bible. Edited by Leo G. Perdue, Blackwell, 2001, pp. a-b. eBook Collection (EBSCOHOST), Monrore Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780631210719Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Narrative in the Hebrew Bible by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Gunn, David, and Danna Nolan Fewell. Narrative in the Hebrew Bible. Oxford UP, 1993. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780192132451Publication Date: 1993-07-29
The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Last name, First. "Title of Chapter." The Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture. Edited by John F.A. Sawyer, Blackwell, 2007, pp. a-b. Wiley Online Library, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
(Note: X-y. indicated the inclusive page numbers on which the chapter appears.)
ISBN: 9780470997000Publication Date: 2007-11-26
The Old Testament in Seven Sentences by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Wright, Christopher J. H. The Old Testament in Seven Sentences: A Small Introduction to a Vast Topic. IVP Academic, 2019. Introductions in Seven Sentences. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780830852253Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Websites
- “Biblical Exegesis: An Introductory Overview” by Felix Just, S.J.
This web page contains a chart on the questions to be asked in doing an exegesis. - Catholic Resources for Bible, Liturgy, Art, and Theology
Especially helpful is the part of the web site called E.N.T.E.R. (Electronic New Testament Educational Resources), containing information, study tools, and links to further information about the Bible (Old Testament and New Testament), including Church documents on the Bible. - Bible Odyssey
Managed by the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL), the oldest and largest academic society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible, Bible Odyssey is a media-rich website that includes articles, videos, timelines, maps, Bible translations, and even games. With contributions from SBL members worldwide, Bible Odyssey reflects a range of academic research and interests from around the globe presented in an accessible format.