Related Guides
MLA Citation of Databases
To learn how to cite sources from databases both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, read the PDF file here. You may also refer to the LIM Guide to Written Theological Reflection available in Canvas and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Get Help with the Catalog and Databases
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
Catalogs
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Religious Studies Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Other Databases
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeFull-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism published in 2007.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- PsycINFOProvides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books.
Biblical Resources
Catholic Resources
- New Catholic EncyclopediaThe full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 2003 edition plus annual updates.
- OriginsOrigins' content ranges from encyclicals, speeches, and other papal messages to pastoral letters by the bishops; from diocesan policy statements to current research to speeches in the news on public policy, liturgy, social justice, the parish, the family, ministries and much more. Origins is a documentary service brought to you by CNS - Catholic News Service.
Subject Guide
Laurie Phillips
Contact:
504-864-7833
Subjects: Course Guides, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Musical Theatre
Monroe Library Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.