Last Updated: Apr 13, 2016
ATLA, ProQuest Religion, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and ProjectMuse are excellent resources for theological research. Use ARTstor to find religious images and artwork.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)
Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.Watch a tutorial
- ProQuest Religion
Search magazines and scholarly journals on religion. 1986 to present.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly. Note: When finished, please click Logout in upper right. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
- Project MUSE Standard
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present.
A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century.
Use the following resources to find information on Catholicism.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
The full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 2003 edition plus annual updates.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal and church documents, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Covers 1988 to present.
The following resources have Bible translations and commentaries. Oxford Biblical Studies Online has a wide selection of Biblical reference material from Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Browse and search a collection of reference materials on the Bible and its world, including archaeology, arts, literature, geography, history, law, politics, material culture, science and more. Includes a Bible verse lookup and other tools.
- Unbound Bible
A collection of ten English-language Bibles, as well as Greek, Hebrew, and other languages. Also includes some reference tools, like a Bible dictionary and a commentary.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts
An in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at firstname.lastname@example.org