PSYC A301 Introduction to Research: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

One hundred key concepts in psychology from antiquity to the present. (Credo)

"A state-of-the-art guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world." Published 2005. (Credo)

"Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts." (Credo)

Fourth edition, 2006. With "significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science." (Credo)

Four-volume encyclopedia on all aspects of aging, from psychology to biology to social sciences. Published in 2002 by Gale.

Originally published in 2004. "This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare."

First published by Sage in 2008.

First published by Sage in 2007.

First published in 2005 by Sage.

Originally published in2009. "Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life."

"This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information." Third edition, 2016.

"This updated edition presents the latest research available on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest research findings in the social sciences of aging that is of particular interest to scientists and researchers in a broad array of specialties." Elsevier, 2015. (Credo)

Originally published in 2002. "Covering all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical -- the 2-vol. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying also provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective through the ages."

"This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology." Penguin, 2009. (Credo)

Forty-one full-text psychology reference books.

"Depression 101 provides a reader-friendly overview of unipolar and bilpolar depression and provides the most current and intriguing scientific knowledge on this topic." Springer, 2013. (Credo)

" ...The book addresses the core theories, approaches, applications, and current findings that comprise this discipline. It is unique in its interdisciplinary focus, which encompasses EPs impact on both psychological and non-psychological disciplines." Springer, 2013. (Credo)

"The text discusses theoretical models underlying geropsychology, and examines common difficulties that affect older adults along with the most effective treatment approaches for this population. With a focus on the strengths and functions of older adults, the text examines the unique psychological problems of later life and conflicts caused by retirement, living longer, financial stressors, and chronic illness." Springer, 2016. (Credo)

"...Classic and contemporary theories and research on the how and why of human love. In addition to presenting the major biological, social, and cultural theories that have been developed on this topic, the book looks at what research has shown us about such essential issues as basic attraction, the life course of relationships, how personality and environment affect love, and how therapeutic interventions can sometimes improve relationships." Springer, 2013. (Credo)