Related Guides
If you're interested in Biological Sciences, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
BioInquiry library class presentation
- Library Research for BioInquiryPowerPoint presentation in PDF format used in class. If you print, please print more than one slide per page.
Find articles
In these databases you'll find scholarly research and popular articles on the biological sciences from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Full Text Finder button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on biology, search the library's catalog. You may also want to visit the lists for chemistry, mathematics, and physics.
- Environment CompleteFind full-text articles on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for over 800. Dates vary, as early as 1904.
Evaluate articles
Once you've found articles with one of the services above, how do you decide which are relevant to your research topic? Here are some guidelines to help and some additional resources.
Criteria for Evaluation:
- What type of source is it?
- Who wrote it?
- Where was it published? In what kind of publication?
- When was it published?
- Why was it published?
- How is it appropriate?
- Purdue OWL Evaluating Bibliographic CitationsOWL = Online Writing Lab.
