Related Guides
Advanced Search Tips
- Boolean OperatorsHere's a link to a webpage from Ithaca College Library. The page describes advanced searching techniques, such as Boolean operators, truncation, and wild cards.
APA Style
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)This website provides an APA (American Psychological Association) formatting and style guide.
Catalog
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Databases
Some materials are are available in full text. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. Locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
News Databases
See also our Research Guides for Newspapers & Current Events.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - presentSearch or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
Finding Nonprofits
- Idealist"Idealist connects people, organizations, and resources to help build a world where all people can live free and dignified lives."
Search for organizations in a certain city or across the globe. - Google Advanced SearchType in the "site or domain" box: .org
Remember to evaluate the source of information.
Evaluating Nonprofits
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer"In April 2013, the IRS released structured data culled from the tax returns of almost 616,000 tax-exempt organizations. Use this database to find organizations and see details like their executive compensation, revenue and expenses, as well as download their tax filings going back as far as 2001."
- IRS Exempt Organization Public Disclosure and Availability RequirementsThis FAQ by the IRS explains how to obtain records for exempt organizations. The link at the bottom of the page allows you to download the FAQ as a PDF.
Selected Books
For more selected books and e-books on nonprofits, visit the research guide for CMMN A318: PR Cases and Campaigns (Rogers).
Brandraising: How Nonprofits Raise Visibility and Money through Smart Communications by Call Number: HD62.6 .D87 2010ISBN: 9780470527535Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Fundraising for Social Change by Call Number: HV41.9 .U5 K57 2007ISBN: 0787984558Publication Date: 2006-10-27
Momentum: Igniting Social Change in the Connected Age by Call Number: HM851 .F55 2006ISBN: 0787984442Publication Date: 2006-09-29
The Nature of the Nonprofit Sector by Call Number: HD2769.2 .U6 N37 2012ISBN: 0813344913Publication Date: 2011-08-02
