Related Guides
- Women's StudiesContains resources (databases, etc.) related to research for Women's Studies.
APA Style
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)This website provides an APA (American Psychological Association) formatting and style guide.
Finding Media Texts through the Monroe Library
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Your critical response paper requires you to analyze a media text. Types of media texts include television or news programs, newspapers, movies, magazines, advertisements, and other organizational or public relations communications.
Below is a selection of library resources that are helpful for locating media texts. Use Journal Finder to determine if the library has access to a particular periodical, such as newspapers and magazines. What resources beyond the library are helpful for locating media texts?
- Research Guide on Newspapers and Current EventsUse this guide to access the library's selection of current and historical newspapers.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveExplore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
Finding Secondary Sources
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteMerged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries. Dates of coverage vary, includes current publications.
Your critical exploration assignment also requires that you cite a minimum of three secondary sources. At least two of the sources must be peer-reviewed, scholarly research articles. You must include copies of these articles. Typically these sources must be accessed through the library.
Depending on your topic, you may want to visit Research Guides on other subject areas. Determine if the full text of an article is available by using Journal Finder. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the library does not own.
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, including Communications, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present. Contains both popular and scholarly materials.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
