Subject Guide
Required Texts Available as Ebooks
Pastoral Leadership: Best Practices for Church Leaders by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Ebener, Dan R. Pastoral Leadership: Best Practices for Church Leaders. Paulist Press,
2018. ProQuest Ebook Central, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9781587687518Publication Date: 2018
The Learning Congregation by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Hawkins, Thomas. The Learning Congregation: A New Vision of Leadership. Westminster/John Knox Press, 1997. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9780585299105Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Leadership and the New Science by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Wheatley, Margaret. Leadership and the New Science. 3rd edition. Berrett-Koehler, 2006. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9781609941307Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Leading Faithful Innovation by
Full citation (italicize title and database):
Zscheile, Dwight, et al. Leading Faithful Innovation: Following God into a Hopeful Future. Fortress Press, 2023. Project Muse, Monroe Library of Loyola U New Orleans.
ISBN: 9781506488776Publication Date: 2023-04-18
About this Research Guide
This Research Guide is designed to assist you in completing the assignments in the course, particularly the Leadership Development Plan and the Analysis of Your System paper. Links connect you to resources to assist you in your analysis and planning.
How to Get Help
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
- Email Librarian Laurie PhillipsYou may email Laurie Phillips, the librarian who is the liaison for the Institute for Minsitry. When emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
Catalog
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Religious Databases
ATLA, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and ProjectMuse are excellent resources for theological research.Use Artsor to find religious images and artwork.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Catholic Resources
- New Catholic EncyclopediaThe full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 2003 edition plus annual updates.
Use the following resources to find information on Catholicism.
Other Databases
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeFull-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism published in 2007.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- PsycINFOProvides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books.