Subject Guide
Music Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical LiteratureProvides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material. 1967 to present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Music Reviews
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - presentSearch or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
- WavelengthWavelength (the predecessor to Offbeat Magazine) was originally been a record review insert. Throughout its run from 1980-1991, Wavelength was dedicated to telling the life stories of the many unheralded New Orleans musicians who had influenced American popular music. It covered the range of New Orleans music -- jazz and gospel, rock and classical, but with an emphasis on rhythm and blues, highlighting the work of some of the city’s most talented writers, artists, and photographers including Jeff Hannusch, Bunny Matthews, Skip Bolen, Rick Olivier, Kalamu ya Salaam, Gene Scaramuzzo, Rick Coleman, Paula Burch, Al Kennedy and dozens of others. The
Business Databases
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present. Click "More" and then "Company Profiles" to view DataMonitor and LifeStyle Analytics reports.
Technology in the Library
- Digital Media WorkstationsFour iMacs and four PC computers are located in front of Media Services on the first floor of the library. They have flatbed scanners for scanning documents and images. Materials on how to use the scanners are located at the computers. The staff in Media Services can also assist you with these computers.
- Portable EquipmentMedia Services and the Learning Commons checkout portable equipment for student, faculty, and staff use.
Related Guides
Catalogs & Journals
What is this? A catalog of our library’s holdings.
What can I search for? Records to books, journals, CDs, DVDs, musical scores, etc. Access to e‐books.
Browse the shelves:
- HD30.28: Business/strategic planning (3rd floor)
- ML74: Music Technology (1st floor)
- ML112: Music Printing & Publishing (1st floor)
- ML3785: Music Journalism (1st floor)
- ML3790-‐3792: Music trade (1st floor)
- ML3795: Music as a profession. Vocational guidance (1st floor)
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
- Journal FinderUse this to locate popular music magazines and journals like Billboard, Spin, and Rolling Stone.
Finding Music Scores
The library circulating collection contains scores and fake books for practice and performance. Call numbers for vocal music fall in M1495-2199, with "folk, national, and ethnic music" (which includes rock, pop, Broadway, jazz, country, and more) in M1627-1853. Call numbers for instrumental music fall in M5-M1480. Links to some specific types of scores and music books are listed below, or you can search the library catalog for a genre or particular artist.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).