Related Guides
- Women's StudiesContains resources (databases, etc.) related to research for Women's Studies.
Quick Intro to Academic Research
Citations
Catalogs
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles.
The call number ranges for gender are broad:
- Gender and Media: P96
- Gender Roles (Anthropology): GN479
- Gender Roles (Sociology): HQ1075
To borrow books owned by Tulane University's library, you can ask for a TULU card at the Monroe Library desk. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe library does not own.
- WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes considerable non-English language material.
Resources on Costume
- History of Costume: 3100 B.C. - 1992Call Number: DVDR-000001"1,500 images illustrating the development and changes in dress from ancient Egypt to 1992."
Ask for this disc at the Learning Commons desk.
Browse resources on costume in the catalog.
Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
Some materials are available in full text. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. You can request an interlibrary loan for materials that the Monroe Library does not own.
- JSTORTo limit your search, click the "BROWSE" dropdown selection at the top of the screen and click on "BY DISCIPLINE" and select "Feminist and Women's Studies" journals.
Selected Journals
- Feminist Studies"Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change."
Locate the full text of articles using Journal Finder.
- Gender & Society"Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender."
Are Bronies Changing the Definition of Masculinity?
By the PBS Idea Channel
"You might assume that the animated TV series "My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic" is for little girls, but Bronies would beg to differ. Bronies are adult men who sincerely LOVE the show, and aren't afraid to admit it. Many people are baffled, even angered, by Brony culture. With their unabashed appreciation for "My Little Pony", Bronies are challenging our perception of gender roles, which may be more fluid than previously thought!"
