Information resources on environmental studies, both natural sciences and social sciences, at the Monroe Library, Loyola University New Orleans.
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2015
The databases below are ones we recommend for Environmental Studies. In
these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and
newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other
provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it!
button to see if the full text is available through another library
resource. To find books on Environmental Studies, search the library's
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Environment Index
Locate articles on environmental issues and policy in over 1000 international journals. Dates vary, mostly early twentieth century to present.
Locate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment. Early 1900s to present.
- America's News
Search or browse for full text of newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and Puerto Rico. Includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune. Also includes some non-newspaper sources. Dates vary.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - present
Search or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
- Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988
Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s.
- Environmental Encyclopedia
Two-volume, full-text, non-technical encyclopedia of environmental issues, published 2011.
- CQ Researcher
Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
Search for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, and agriculture. 1979 to present.
Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, maps, theses, dissertations and books in geoscience; some non-English-language material. Covers North America since 1785; other areas of the world since 1933.
- Annual Reviews
Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology; Ecology, Evolution, and Systemics; Entomology; Genetics; Immunology; Marine Science; Medicine; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nutrition; Pharmacology and Toxicology; Physiology; Physical Chemistry; Phytopathology; Plant Biology; Psychology and Sociology. Full text for 1996 to present.
Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers. Covers 2000 to present.
- Web of Knowledge
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals in the sciences and social sciences. Citation searching available. Please click Log out button in the upper right when finished. Covers citing publications from 1992 to present in the sciences and 2007 to present in the social sciences.
- Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
Search international biological science journals. Covers 1984 to 2009.
Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos
Chat with the AJCU consortium:
Chat with Backup Staff:
Our chat service is offline.
Please contact us at 504-864-7111 or at email@example.com
Read through the page listed below for information on solving off-campus access problems. Main points: you must be a current Loyola community member, try a different computer in a different location, and try a different browser.