Frequently Used
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Country Information
See also our Research Guide on finding Statistics.
- CIA World FactbookBrief information on each country.
- Country Studies/Area Studies Handbooks from the Library of CongressNot all countries have a study.
- ELDIS Country ProfilesPrimarily agriculture.
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Research GuideLinks to the library's collection of hundreds online dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Europa world year book.London, England : Europa Publications Limited, c1989- Annual. (Loyola has the latest edition in REFERENCE. One earlier edition in STACKS.) JN1 .E85 REFERENCE. [print only]
- International Monetary Fund country informationEconomic information.
- NationMasterCreate graphs based on information on nations from various sources.
- OECD Factbook 2015-2016: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics"It provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa."
- Our World in DataWeb site with graphs and other visualizations of data. Has a "Food" category.
- U.S. State Department Background NotesOn individual countries.
- Welsh, Brian W. W. Dictionary of development : Third World economy, environment, society.New York : Garland Pub., 1990. (2 volumes) HC59.7 .D513 1990 REFERENCE [print only]
Subject Guide
William Ransom
They/them or he/him
Contact:
(504) 864-7846
Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Mathematics, Political Science, Sociology