Frequently Used
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Related Guides
If you're interested in Mathematics, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Electronic Full Text
Also check for individual e-books in our online catalog and e-journals in Journal Finder.
- Annual review of nutrition (technical & scholarly)Annual publication with long reviews that have huge bibliographies.
- Directory of Open Access Journals - Browse SubjectsClick 'Agriculture' to see a list of free, full-text scholarly journals on agriculture.
- Encyclopedia of American Food and DrinkFull-text encyclopedia on food and trends in American cooking and cuisine.
- Gale Encyclopedia of DietsPublished 2013. "The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet."
- Gale Encyclopedia of Diets"Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly."
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA collection of over 200 reference books (over 600 volumes) in all subject areas published 1990 to present.
- CredoSearch or browse for facts and information across over 750 full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, bilingual dictionaries and more.
- Literati by Credo food reference booksThirteen reliable, full text sources, like the Cambridge World History of Food and the Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems.
Subject Guide
William Ransom
They/them or he/him
Contact:
(504) 864-7846
Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Mathematics, Political Science, Sociology