Skip to main content /* Submitted right after the opening tab */

CHEM Y230: World Food and Nutrition (Neuberger): Books

Information resources For the World Food and Nutrition class CHEM Z130 at the Monroe Library, Loyola University New Orleans.

Frequently Used

Related Guides

If you're interested in Mathematics, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.

Books and ebooks

Online catalog (Loyola Monroe library catalog; if it's here, we own it; use to see if we have a journal in print--no individual journal articles listed.)

Culinary History Collection.  Virginia Tech full-text electronic cookbooks and related books. 

Dyer, Judith C. Vegetarianism : an annotated bibliography. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1982. TX392 .D93 1982 REFERENCE.

Encyclopedia of global change : Environmental change and human society. Oxford, New York : Oxford University Press, c2002. 2 v. GE 149 .E47 2002 REFERENCE. (Articles on "Agriculture and Agricultural Land," "Famine," "Food")

Encyclopedia of human biology. San Diego : Academic Press, c1991. 8 v. QP11 .E53 1991 REFERENCE.

Ensminger, Audrey. Foods & nutrition encyclopedia. Clovis, Calif., U.S.A. : Pegus Press, 1983. 2 v. TX349 .F575 1983 REFERENCE.

Food composition and nutrition tables 1989/90. Stuttgart : Wissenschaftliche Verlagsgesellschaft, 1989. TX551 .F66 1989 REFERENCE.

ICON Health Publications. [e-books in catalog] covering many health topics, including foods. Search our online catalog for the words "a medical dictionary, bibliography, and annotated research guide to Internet references" to find all. Some foods included: adzuki beans, alfalfa, almonds, cabbage, chocolate, and cinnamon.

Kiple, Kenneth F. The Cambridge world history of food. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2000. 2 v. TX353 .C255 2000 REFERENCE.

Kutsky, Roman J. Handbook of vitamins, minerals, and hormones. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1981. QP533 .K87 1981 REFERENCE.

Pressman, Alan H. The complete idiot's guide to vitamins and minerals. New York : Alpha Books, c1997. (This book is available online through netLibrary. If you are a first-time netLibrary user, click on 'create account' on a netLibrary web page (see URL below) to start. You must create a user account at a Loyola computer, but once you have an account, netLibrary books may be used from any Internet address. Books can be browsed for 15 minutes or checked out for two hours at a time. Contact a librarian for more information.)

Rucker, Robert B. Handbook of vitamins. New York : Marcel Dekker, c2001. QP771 .H35 2001 REFERENCE.

Smith, Andrew F. The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. 2v. TX349 .E45 2004 Reference.

Welsh, Brian W. W. Dictionary of development : Third World economy, environment, society. New York : Garland Pub., 1990. (2 volumes) HC59.7 .D513 1990 REFERENCE (Volume 1, pages xi-lxv: "Developing Country Indicators," countries by continent. Includes land area, population, GNP per capita, population density, urban-rural population ration, economic land, economic land per capita, economic land as a percentage of total land area, average calorie consumption, food production per capita, food imports as a percentage of total exports, and more. Countries of former Soviet Union not included.)

Winter, Ruth. A consumer's dictionary of food additives. New York : Crown, 1989. TX553 .A3 W55 1989 REFERENCE.

Worldwatch Institute. State of the world : a Worldwatch Institute report on progress toward a sustainable society. New York : Norton, c1984-present. HC59 .S734 (Loyola has all editions in REFERENCE.) (An annual publication with lengthy articles on economic, population and environmental policy. There is usually an article dealing with agriculture, hunger and related issues.)

Browse these call numbers in the library:

  •     QP771 (Monroe Library third floor) (physiology)
  •     RM 216 --237 (Monroe Library third floor) (medical nutrition)
  •     TX353 and above (Monroe Library third floor) (food, cooking & nutrition)

Subject Guide

Michael Truran's picture
Michael Truran
Contact:
(504) 864 - 7119
Give Now