Frequently Used
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Related Guides
If you're interested in Mathematics, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Electronic journal article locators
Electronic research tools, to find mostly magazine and journal articles, but also books, book chapters, dissertations and other publications. Check the description of each tool for its best use.
See also the guide listing encyclopedias and dictionaries. This list is in alphabetical order, not order of importance. See a reference librarian for help in choosing if needed.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- AgricolaSearch for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, agriculture, and related areas. Late 1700s to present.
- All electronic databases at LoyolaAll online, electronic databases and research services at Loyola
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsSearch and retrieval service that links to Federal agency online resources or identifies government publications distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. As some government documents are printed in various languages, some non-English language materials may be represented in the catalog. Covers 1994 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
- Google ScholarFind scholarly articles, meeting papers, and books. Look for the Full Text Finder links to full text and other services. More at the Google Scholar guide.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFind articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Info on U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily. Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a free public service on medicine and drugs from the National Library of Medicine.
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveExplore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
Subject Guide
