Related Guides
- Music Industry Studies Research GuideContains resources (databases, etc.) related to research for Music Industry Studies.
Film Literature Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- Art & Architecture CompleteFind full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteFull text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Literary Reference Center PlusFull-text database provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
- Movie Review Query EngineSearch for film reviews on the Internet by film name.
- Project MUSE StandardProvides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos.
Business Databases
- Business Source CompleteFind articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present. Click "More" and then "Company Profiles" to view DataMonitor and LifeStyle Analytics reports.
Digital Archival Resources
- Harry Ransom Center Movie Posters CollectionThe Ransom Center's movie poster collection consists of an estimated 10,000 posters and spans the entire history of film from the silent era to the present day.
Finding and Using Media
Subject Guide
Laurie Phillips
Contact:
504-864-7833
Subjects: Course Guides, Film, LIM, Ministry, Music, Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy