Subject Guide
Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- Catholic Perioical and Literature IndexThis database offers citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers, and you can find some articles that are found in full-text online.
Journals
- Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on ReligionThis journal, published by the Baylor University Institute for Studies of Religion, covers a wide range of topics.
- Journal of Religious LeadershipThis is a journal covering topics in practical/pastoral Theology, Christian church administration, management, and leadership.
- Review of Religious ResearchThis journal provides a forum for the publication of research information on religion and religious organizations in the lives of individuals and in the wider society.
- Social Compass: International Review of Sociology of ReligionThis is the quarterly journal of the International Federation of Institutes for Social and Socio-Religious Research (FERES). Part of each issue consists of articles on a particular theme plus article on topics that bear upon religion in contemporary societies.
Catalogs
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
Related Guides
MLA Citation of Databases
To learn how to cite sources from databases both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, read the PDF file here. You may also refer to the LIM Guide to Written Theological Reflection available in Canvas and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
How to Get Help
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
- Email Librarian Laurie PhillipsYou may email Laurie Phillips, the librarian who is the liaison for the Institute for Minsitry. When emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.