Loyola University Athletics Image Collection Inventory
This collection consists of photographs and negatives that document Loyola University New Orleans athletics. Images primarily date from two time periods, the 1950’s to 1970’s and 1990’s to early 2000’s, with some earlier images from the 20th Century. The bulk of these images are the result of internal transfer from the Intercollegiate Athletics department (University Archives) with a small selection of alumni donated images. Some images may be duplicated in the University Photographers collection.
Loyola University Athletics Collection
This is an artificial collection consisting of Loyola University New Orleans athletics programs, media guides, clippings, and other ephemera created to promote and support sport teams at Loyola University between the years of 1908 – 1992. Archery, basketball, baseball, boxing, football, golf, soccer, and tennis are represented as well as Hall of Fame awards and items detailing the discontinuation of intercollegiate sports in 1972.
Select items from this collection are digitized and available through the Louisiana Digital Library. Please refer to the Digital Collections box for additional information.
Athletic Media Guides: Media guides from various Loyola University New Orleans sports teams. Collection contains guides from 1997 - present.
The Loyola Bulletins act as course catalogs for the university. Bulletins for 1855-56 through 1876-77 are for Jesuits' College. The name of the school changed to College of the Immaculate Conception later that year. Bulletins for early 1910s through early 1920s are for high school and grammar school departments. Loyola College was the next forerunner of Loyola University. After Loyola University was formed, the college was a grammar and high school. The general bulletins continued to be published to the present day. Individual colleges and schools within Loyola published bulletins as well. Loyola’s bulletins were digitized by the LYRASIS Mass Digitization Collaborative with funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Note: Monroe Library's Special Collections & Archives does not have copies of the School of Dentistry's earliest bulletins, but 1914-1923 have been digitized by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and are also available in the Internet Archive.
Historic Loyola University Maroon Newspaper
The Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features. These are available through the Louisiana Digital Library (LDL), an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials.
Loyola University Wolf Yearbooks
The Wolf, the yearbook of Loyola University, has been published since 1924. The yearbooks contain invaluable information about student life, classes, and faculty. The Wolf Yearbooks were digitized by the LYRASIS Mass Digitization Collaborative with funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and are available via the Internet Archive.
Video Tutorial
This collection documents the history of libraries and library staff at Loyola University New Orleans. At this time the collection is comprised of Library Newsletters from 1983-2009 from the University Periodicals Collection.