Library Databases
Each of the following databases is a unique collection of journals, articles, and features. It is a good idea to run your search in more than one of them.
- MedlineContains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
- PubMed with Full Text FinderPubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, with 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals in anatomy, nursing, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, health care and more. Includes some non-English language material. Note: PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. 1966 to present.
- Cochrane LibraryAlso called "Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews." Browse or search for full-text reviews of treatment based on medical research. Also called evidence-based medicine. Current articles.
Medical Database Apps For Mobile Devices
 |
CINAHL: Search for articles across all EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL. Download the app in CINAHL by clicking the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. Authenticate through email on your mobile device. Free for Loyola University New Orleans students |
 |
PUBMED ON TAP: Search for articles on a PubMed interface with PubMed on Tap. Download the app via the app store on your device. $2.99 |
 |
MEDSCAPE: Search for drugs and drug interaction references, diseases and conditions, procedures, anatomy and more. Download the app and register. Free |
 |
COCHRANE LIBRARY: Includes reviews and podcasts. Only available for apple devices and must be purchased from the itunes store. |