Typing French Accents
If you need to type in French and make use of diacritical marks such as the cédille; circonflexe; and accents aigu, grave, and tréma, switch the keyboard setting in your computer's Control Panel to International. For more details, see the links below.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Resources
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
- JSTORFull-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through XV, Life Sciences, and many others; click "more" below for a full list. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Online Image CollectionsOn this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.
Online Catalog
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Search for DVDsTo search for a specific DVD title, select "browse," enter the title, and click "title."
To see our collection of French DVDs, select "keyword," enter "FRE," and click "word or phrases."
Dictionaries & Translation Services
- Oxford Reference OnlineSearch for entries in 14 Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Word ReferenceThis free online foreign language dictionary includes English to French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and Japanese translations.
