Subject Guide
How to Get Help
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
- Email Librarian Laurie PhillipsYou may email Laurie Phillips, the librarian who is the liaison for the Institute for Minsitry. When emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
Catalogs
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Relevant Databases
ATLA, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and ProjectMuse are excellent resources for theological research.Use Artsor to find religious images and artwork.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Online Image CollectionsOn this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Catholic Resources
- New Catholic EncyclopediaThe full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. udated annually. The articles in this resource vary considerably in age; those that are older than 30 years should be used with caution. The dates of the references in the bibliographies at the end of the articles indicate how recently they have been updated.
Use the following resources to find information on Catholicism.