Digital Collections
- Chinese Pamphlets
The Hunter Collection consists of mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These include approximately 200 cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards, and magazines, heavily pictorial in content, on such topics as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform. The materials were produced by both Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist) and Communist regimes, and appear to be directed at the general youth and adult populations of China. - Digital South Asia Library
Digital materials for reference and research on South Asia, including photographs, maps, and statistical information from the colonial period to the present. - East Asian Collection
Historical image collection from the University of Wisconsin that currently includes images that document early 20th century China including the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China. - East Asia Image CollectionThe EAIC documents the history of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included. The Collection is built around a core of visual materials donated to Skillman Library Special Collections by the family of Gerald and Rella Warner. Images unique to this collection include the Warners’ unpublished slides and negatives , made from snapshots taken during their years of US State Department service in Asia (1932-1952).
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) アジア歴史資料センター
_B20107-12.png)
Digital archive of "Japanese historical documents concerning modern Japan and its relations with countries, among others, neighboring Asian countries - digitized and provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan." - North Korea International Documentation ProjectAn informational clearinghouse on North Korea that disseminates newly declassified documents on the DPRK from its former communist allies as well as other resources that provide valuable insight into the actions and nature of the North Korean state.
Newspapers
- Nikkei Newspapers Digital ArchiveIncludes two significant newspapers which tell the story of Japanese immigration and Japanese American community life in Seattle and beyond, from 1902 to 1950, and continuing to the present day. The newspapers, North American Times (1902-1942) and North American Post (1946-1950), were published primarily in Japanese, with occasional, and then regularly appearing, pages published in English.
- Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946Library of Congress digitization project.
Has a better search feature than the similar database by Gale, below.
Consider exploring the history of Asia, international relations, and the experience of Asian-Americans through major United States or British newspapers. Always keep in mind the perspectives of journalists and their intended readers when using newspapers as primary sources.
- New York TimesFull-text access to current and archive issues of the New York Times is provided by Monroe Library to all current students, staff, and faculty. First-time users will need to create an account using their Loyola email before logging in.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersCollection of newspapers from the United States and its territories published between 1800 and 1899. Not every issue of every newspaper is available. Can search the entire collection at once; advanced search focuses by individual paper, type of article, and publication dates.
- Times (of London) Digital Archive 1785-2012The Times (of London) newspaper in full page image from 1785 through 2012. Advanced search to limit by type of article.
Foreign Relations records
The following collections emphasize international and intercultural relations, particularly between Asia and the West.
- Foreign Relations of the United States SeriesThe Office of the Historian offers ebook editions of a growing number of volumes from the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series.
- Wilson Center Digital Archive: Chinese Foreign Policy DatabaseThe Chinese Foreign Policy Database enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.