Primary Sources: A Guide

A cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.

An open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean.

Digitized runaway slave advertisements from Saint-Domingue (Haiti), Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Jamaica, Louisiana, South Carolina, and Lower Canada (Québec).
As described by the project authors: "Advertisements for runaway slaves are the main source of any story of marronage. Racist and demeaning sources who speak of slaves as if they were mere lost objects or stray animals, they are nonetheless essential to retrace the life trajectories of the thousands of enslaved men and women who refused, to one or more moments of their life, to bow to the violence of racial slavery.

Materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996. Collection includes camp newspapers and artwork created by refugees held at Guantánamo Bay, Cuba; materials from the U.S. Coast Guard and other military sources, such as newspapers written in Haitian Creole, photocopies of camp rules and refugee intake procedures, and a transcript from an introductory video shown to refugees arriving at the camps.

"Castro Speech" is a database containing the full-text translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency responsible for monitoring broadcast and print media in countries throughout the world.

A site showcasing a selection of books from the John Carter Brown Library that are available online through the Internet Archive.

Collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Website in Spanish.
The documents range from pre-hispanic codices such as the Mixtec Codice Colombino from the 12th century, to the original manuscript of the Plan de Ayala written in 1911 by Emiliano Zapata and Otilio Montano, one of the most important documents of the Mexican Revolution.

The Office of the Historian offers ebook editions of a growing number of volumes from the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series.