Faculty/Librarian Partnerships

When you are gathering the information you need to conduct a research project, consider engaging us in the following ways:

• Consult with your librarian liaison to
  • discover what relevant information might be available through Monroe Library, or elsewhere,
  • learn about what the Monroe Library offers that may meet your needs (even if it's different from what you have used elsewhere). 
  • learn how to borrow or use resources from other local academic libraries, and
  • how to approach citation & data management to support your research process.
• Work with our Interlibrary Loan Coordinator to obtain materials from other libraries.
• Confer with our Special Collections & Archives to facilitate access to other archives' materials.

Our librarian liaisons work closely with the information resources relevant to their assigned disciplines, departments, and programs. We, of course, regularly connect students and faculty to the scholarly and professional conversations embedded in our own collections. However, we also try to stay alert to what might be available in emergent research and in collections other than our own. 

When starting a new research project, consider making an appointment with your liaison (using the link above) to discuss your research design and any possible information needs. We will work with you to identify relevant information resources here at Monroe Library and elsewhere.

If you are collecting many information resources for a project, you may be interested in a tool and strategy for managing everything you gather. We have guides for using a citation management tool (like Zotero or Mendeley) and for managing your research data. Please let your liaison know if you are interested in either.

• Use ILLiad to request items not in our collection
  • Items can be books, book chapters, articles, music scores, A/V materials (CDs, DVDs, LPs, etc), graduate dissertations, and sometimes microfilm and full journal issues.
  • Electronically delivered articles and book chapters can be posted to Canvas courses, but books borrowed from other libraries cannot be placed on physical reserve
  • Average turnaround time during FY 21-22 was 3 days for articles, 17 days for loans.
  • There is no charge or limit for interlibrary loan, except in the case of lost or damaged items.
• In some cases, it can be faster to borrow an item directly from another library in New Orleans
  • Loyola faculty have borrowing privileges at several local academic libraries, including Tulane, Xavier, New Orleans Baptist Seminary, and UNO with a LOUIS Reciprocal Borrowers card. These privileges extend to the other academic libraries throughout the state, but ILL may be more convenient than a drive elsewhere in the state. 
  • Faculty can also borrow from all 28 Jesuit institutions in the United States
  • For a LOUIS Reciprocal Borrowers card, bring your faculty ID to the front desk of the library and ask for this card. 
  • We do not have remote access to online resources at other libraries, as we are not a part of their community or their vendor contracts. However, you may go to those libraries and use a guest computer to use their resources. 

Located on the third floor of the Monroe Library, Special Collections & Archives (SCA) preserves materials related to the history of Louisiana and the South, the Society of Jesus, and Loyola University New Orleans. SCA collections are comprised of:

• Rare books
• Archival and manuscript collections
• University archives

Select materials have been digitized and are available through the Louisiana Digital Library and the Internet Archive, including:

• The Wolf (Loyola University New Orleans yearbooks)
• The Maroon (Loyola University New Orleans student newspaper)
• Loyola University New Orleans Electronic Theses Collection
• Loyola University New Orleans Photographs Collection

For a full list of our collections available online, please visit our Digital Collections webpage.

Research Consultations for Special Collections & Archives

The librarians/archivists in SCA are able to assist you with archival research, including facilitating research with other archival institutions and collections outside of the university. To submit a request to SCA for research assistance, set up an appointment to visit or conduct research with the archival and manuscript collections, or other requests, please complete our request form or send us an email at archives@loyno.edu and one of our archivists will follow up with you.