Subject Guide
William Ransom
They/them or he/him
Contact:
(504) 864-7846
Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Mathematics, Political Science, Sociology
Resources
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- American Law Institute PublicationsFeaturing Codifications, Proceedings, Reports, other Special Publications and Restatements published by the American Law Institute. Includes Model Penal Code and the Restatements.
- CIS Congressional UniverseCongressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. Courtesy Law Library.
- Congress.govFind legislative and congressional information. It includes bill text, the Congressional Record, committee information, votes, directories and other information. Current and historical information available.
- Congressional BasicCongressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. Courtesy of the Law Library.
- EcolexSource for environmental law. Available on the database are international treaties, national legislation from countries around the world, court decisions, and legal and policy literature.
- FindLawFindLaw offers links to legal, business and consumer resources. Find case law, Supreme Court decisions and links to legal associations.
- HeinOnlineBrowse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.) Dates vary. Courtesy of the Law Library.
- Legislative InsightLegislative Insight is a comprehensive database tool for researching United State Federal legislative history. Courtesy of the Law Library.
- Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English LawEnglish legal history beginning with 1066 C.E.
- Legal SourceContaining full text for hundreds of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Collection covers information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- U.S. Congressional DocumentsIncludes Congressional Record, Congressional Record Daily, Journals of the Continental Congress, Annals of the Congress of the United States, Journals of the Continental Congress and more.
Find Library Materials
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Search for DVDsTo search for a specific DVD title, select "browse," enter the title, and click "title."
To see our collection of Spanish DVDs, select "keyword," enter "SPA," and click "word or phrases."
From the Law School Library: Related Links
- Law Library Online ResourcesIntelliConnect, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, HeinOnline, ALI Collection, CIS Congressional Universe, Chicago Manual of Style Online, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Some resources are available only from the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law campus.
- Law Library Quick LinksLibrary catalogs, general resources, and HeinOnline links.
- Law Library Research GuidesIn-depth guides for searching specific case types as well as finding cases by citation, federal statutes, and Louisiana statutes.
LSAT Test Prep
Test prep books will be held on Reserve at the Learning Commons desk under the name “Test Prep.” Learning Express Library is a database of test prep materials and includes LSAT prep.
- LSAT : Law School Admission TestBarron's Educational Series, Inc.
- Cracking the LSATPrinceton Review
- Learning Express LibraryPractice tests and ebooks for improving performance on academic and professional tests. Includes practice exams for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and TOEFL. Also mathematics, reading, and other skill improvement tutorials. First-time users must register from on campus.