About Women's History Month
Women’s History Month had its origins as a national celebration in 1981 when Congress passed Pub. L. 97-28 which authorized and requested the President to proclaim the week beginning March 7, 1982 as “Women’s History Week." Throughout the next five years, Congress continued to pass joint resolutions designating a week in March as "Women’s History Week." In 1987 after being petitioned by the National Women’s History Project, Congress passed Pub. L. 100-9 which designated the month of March 1987 as “Women’s History Month." Between 1988 and 1994, Congress passed additional resolutions requesting and authorizing the President to proclaim March of each year as Women’s History Month. Since 1995, Presidents Clinton, Bush and Obama have issued a series of annual proclamations designating the month of March as “Women’s History Month.”
From the Law Library of Congress' guide to the legislative history of Women's History Month.
Related Guides
- Archival Resources for Women's IssuesGuide to holdings related to women's issues.
Citations
To learn how to cite sources from databases both parenthetically in your paper and on your Works Cited page, please refer to the Purdue OWL. Here you will find information about how to MLA, APA, and other citation styles.
Databases
- Abstracts in Social GerontologySearch for content in the field of gerontology and geriatrics, covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas in geriatric studies back to the mid-1970s.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- DiotimaThis free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexA searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI. Covers 1992 to present.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA collection of over 200 reference books (over 600 volumes) in all subject areas published 1990 to present.
- JSTORFull text scholarly articles, book reviews, and pamphlets from across the all disciplines including a searchable section entitled Feminist and Women's Studies.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
- PsycINFOCitations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
- U.N. Secretary-General's Database on Violence Against Women[A] coordinated database on the extent, nature and consequences of all forms of violence against women, and on the impact and effectiveness of policies and programmes for, including best practices in, combating such violence..
- Women Working, 1800 - 1930"This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. . . The collection will contain more than 2,200 books and pamphlets, 1,000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections." 1870-1930.
