Related Guides
If you're interested in Chemistry and Art, these subjects may also be helpful for your research.
Frequently Used
- Online catalogThe library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- CQ ResearcherExplores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
Help
- HelpBrief videos.
Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources
Please see our Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources (last revised Aug. 2013).
Chemistry Resources
The most comprehensive chemistry research tool is SciFinder Scholar, which requires registration. In these databases you'll find scholarly research and popular articles on the chemical sciences from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on chemistry, search the library's catalog. You may also want to visit the lists for physics, the biological sciences, and mathematics.
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- American Chemical Society web journalsSearchable full text of most ACS journals. Covers all years for journals included.
- NatureSearch and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day, 1869 to present.
- Science and Technology CollectionIndexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for over 800. Dates vary, as early as 1904.
- ScienceDirectRecent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals. 1995 to present.
- SciFinder-nSearch the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.) Covers 1962 to present. Abbreviation list.
Visual Arts Resources
- Art RetrospectiveSearch for articles in an international array of peer-selected art publications. (For newer articles, see Art Full Text.) Covers publications from 1929 to 1984.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in ArtHistorical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
- JSTORSeveral collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago.
- CredoSearch or browse for facts and information across over 750 full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, bilingual dictionaries and more.
- Oxford Reference Online - Art and ArchitectureVarious searchable online reference sources on art and architecture published by Oxford University Press.
Web Sites
- ARTStem"Teaching and learning at the intersection of the arts, humanities, and STEM disciplines." (STEM = Science, Technology, Engineering, Medicine) Tabs for sciences, arts and humanities leading to news and information.
