Primary Documents from the National Archives
Constitution Day Materials in the Monroe Library
The classical foundations of the American Constitution : prevailing wisdom by Call Number: JK116 .B43 2008Publication Date: 2008Beyond confederation : origins of the constitution and American national identity by
Call Number: E303 .B49 1987Publication Date: 1987- The Constitution, that delicate balance [videorecording] byCall Number: DVD-001722 DISCS 1-2 , DVD-001722 DISCS 3-4, DVD-001722 DISCS 5-7
Pamphlets on the Constitution of the United States by Call Number: JK171 .F711 1968Publication Date: 1968
Constitution Day 2016
Image from The National Archives
Constitution Day commemorates the formation and signing of the U.S. Constitution by thirty-nine brave men on September 17, 1787, and recognizes all who are born in the U.S. or who by naturalization have become citizens.
From the Library of Congress Constitution Day website:
The members of the Constitutional Convention signed the United States Constitution on September 17, 1787 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Constitutional Convention convened in response to dissatisfaction with the Articles of Confederation and the need for a strong centralized government. After four months of secret debate and many compromises, the proposed Constitution was submitted to the states for approval. Although the vote was close in some states, the Constitution was eventually ratified and the new Federal government came into existence in 1789. The Constitution established the U.S. government as it exists today.
U.S. Constitution Resources Online
- American Bar Association's Constitution Day ResourcesIncludes text transcripts, landmark cases, conversation starters, lessons, and resources
- Constitution DayPictures and full-text transcripts of the Constitution
- Constitution Day and Citizenship DayOverview from the Library of Congress
- Constitution page at "Charters of Freedom"National Archives' virtual Constitution exhibit
- Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional ConventionFrom the Library of Congress' "American Memory" Collection
- Explore the ConstitutionThe National Constitution Center's website includes the United States Constitution in its entirety, divided clearly by Article and Amendment. Includes the ability to browse the site by Issue to find how current legislation has been developed based on the Constitution.
- La Constitución de los Estados Unidos de América 1787Spanish language version of the Constitution from the National Archives
- The Constitution Project"The Constitution Project seeks consensus solutions to difficult legal and constitutional issues through constructive dialogue across ideological and partisan lines, and through scholarship, activism, and public education efforts."
- The Constitution: That Delicate Balance"A video instructional series on the American Constitution for college and high school classrooms and adult learners; 13 one-hour video programs and coordinated books."
Teaching Materials for Constitution Day
- Constitution Day Resources for TeachersLibrary of Congress
- Interactive "Fascinating Facts" Constitution QuizFrom ConstitutionFacts.com
- Interactive ConstitutionNational Constitution Center
- Teacher's Primary Source SetLibrary of Congress
- Teaching With Documents: Observing COnstitution DayFrom the National Archives
