Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Collections Registrar & Archivist
Other Special Collections & Archives Guides
Loyola University Athletics Image Collection Inventory
This collection consists of photographs and negatives that document Loyola University New Orleans athletics. Images primarily date from two time periods, the 1950’s to 1970’s and 1990’s to early 2000’s, with some earlier images from the 20th Century. The bulk of these images are the result of internal transfer from the Intercollegiate Athletics department (University Archives) with a small selection of alumni donated images. Some images may be duplicated in the University Photographers collection.
Loyola University Athletics Collection
This is an artificial collection consisting of Loyola University New Orleans athletics programs, media guides, clippings, and other ephemera created to promote and support sport teams at Loyola University between the years of 1908 – 1992. Archery, basketball, baseball, boxing, football, golf, soccer, and tennis are represented as well as Hall of Fame awards and items detailing the discontinuation of intercollegiate sports in 1972.
Digitized Loyola University Athletics Collection
his is an artificial collection consisting of Loyola University New Orleans ephemera created to promote and support sport teams at Loyola University between the years of 1908 – 1992. Archery, basketball, baseball, boxing, football, golf, soccer, and tennis are represented as well as Hall of Fame awards and items detailing the discontinuation of intercollegiate sports in 1972. Films from the Loyola University Athletics Collection were digitized by the Center for Louisiana Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette thanks to generous donations from John Erb and Charles Young.
Loyola University Photographs
This collection is comprised of photographs dating back to the early 20th century from Loyola's University Archives. Early photographs include some taken by famed New Orleans photographer E.J. Bellocq. Since 1949, the university has employed an official photographer. While a large part of the photographs in the collection come from these university employees, many photographs in the collection are unidentified. When the photographer is known, photos will be credited to that person. Unidentified photos will be credited to the university.
- Athletic Media Guides: Media guides from various Loyola University New Orleans sports teams. Collection contains guides from 1997 - present.
- The Wolf: The yearbook of Loyola University, has been published since 1924. The yearbooks contain invaluable information about student life, classes, and faculty. The Wolf Yearbooks were digitized by the LYRASIS Mass Digitization Collaborative with funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Click here to view the historic digital collection.