Subject Guide
About this Research Guide
This Research Guide is designed to assist you in completing the assigned papers in the course. Links connect you to resources for relevant topics. Resources include
- ebooks
- digital commentaries
- databases for finding articles about your passage
- library catalog
- websites
- biblical translations
How to Get Help
- Research Handouts and TutorialsA wide variety of handouts and video tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you in the Get Help section of the library's website; click this link to browse them.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
- Email Librarian Laurie PhillipsYou may email Laurie Phillips, the librarian who is the liaison for the Institute for Minsitry. When emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
Catalog
- Online catalog
The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
- OCLC WorldCatCatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
Journals
The journals listed below are a select list of useful scholarly periodicals. Type the journal's name in the search box of the Monroe Library's Journal Finder page to see the library's holdings. Please note that different databases may hold issues of the journal from various years, so click on the name of the database that holds the years of the journal that you wish to search.
| Biblica | Journal of Biblical Literature |
| Biblical Interpretation | Journal for the Study of the New Testament |
| Biblical Research | New Testament Studies |
| Biblical Theology Bulletin | Novum Testamentum |
| Catholic Biblical Quarterly | Semeia |
| Interpretation: A Journal of Bible and Theology |
Religious Studies Databases
- Academic Search CompleteFind articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion. A list of tutorials for using this database can be found in the left-hand column of this webpage under Get Help with the Catalog and Databases.
- JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
- Online Image CollectionsOn this research guide, we have pulled together a list of many image collections available at museums, libraries, and other institutions around the world.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
Biblical Commentaries
- Anchor Yale Bible CommentariesAnchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship. Draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world.
Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible. - Bible OdysseyManaged by the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL), the oldest and largest academic society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible, Bible Odyssey is a media-rich website that includes articles, videos, timelines, maps, Bible translations, and even games. With contributions from SBL members worldwide, Bible Odyssey reflects a range of academic research and interests from around the globe presented in an accessible format.
- New Interpreters Bible (CD-ROM Table of Contents)You may request that the Library send you copies of text from this resource. Instructions for how to do so precede the table of contents in the attached file.
Biblical Translations
- The Bible GatewayCompare the NAB translation with the following translations on this website: the Contemporary English Version, English Standard Version, Good News Translation, New American Standard Bible, 2011 New International Version, and the New King James Version. (You may also want to compare the original King James Version because it is so well-known and influential.) CAUTION: DO NOT USE any of the commentaries or other “Bible Study” tools on this website as they are out of date or differ in approach.
Related Guides
How to Get Help
- More TutorialsA wide variety of tutorials about general research, subject specific research, and technology help are available you. Click this link, then scroll down the list until you see the Tutorials option and click on it.
- Email the Monroe LibraryYou may email the Outreach Librarians; when emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.
- Email Librarian Laurie PhillipsYou may email Laurie Phillips, the librarian who is the liaison for the Institute for Minsitry. When emailing, be sure to indicate that you are a LIM onsite (extension) or online student.